Best Google Doodle ever!

Super Doodle!

I love Google for remember … and honour the 65th birthday of Freddie Mercury!

From time to time we invite guests to post about items of interest and are thrilled to have Brian May join us to talk about friend and bandmate Freddie Mercury. Our doodle celebrating Freddie’s birthday can be seen around the world on September 5 and, out of respect for Labor Day, in the U.S. on September 6. A guitarist and songwriter, Brian May is a founding member of Queen and wrote many of the band’s hits, including “We Will Rock You,” “The Show Must Go On” and “I Want It All.” Brian is also a respected solo artist and one of the founders of Freddie for a Day (www.freddieforaday.com), an organization helping to fight HIV/AIDS globally. – Ed.

I was first introduced to Freddie Mercury—a paradoxically shy yet flamboyant young man—at the side of the stage at one of our early gigs as the group “SMILE.” He told me he was excited by how we played, he had some ideas—and he could sing! I’m not sure we took him very seriously, but he did have the air of someone who knew he was right. He was a frail but energised dandy, with seemingly impossible dreams and a wicked twinkle in his eye. A while later we had the opportunity to actually see him sing … and it was scary! He was wild and untutored, but massively charismatic. Soon, he began his evolution into a world-class vocal talent, right in front of our eyes.

Freddie was fully focused, never allowing anything or anyone to get in the way of his vision for the future. He was truly a free spirit. There are not many of these in the world. To achieve this, you have to be, like Freddie, fearless—unafraid of upsetting anyone’s apple cart.

Some people imagine Freddie as the fiery, difficult diva who required everyone around him to compromise. No. In our world, as four artists attempting to paint on the same canvas, Freddie was always the one who could find the compromise—the way to pull it through. If he found himself at odds with any one of us, he would quickly dispel the cloud with a generous gesture, a wisecrack or an impromptu present. I remember one morning after a particularly tense discussion he presented me with a cassette. He had been up most of the night compiling a collage of my guitar solos. “I wanted you to hear them as I hear them, dear,” he said. “They’re all fab, so I made them into a symphony!”

To create with Freddie was always stimulating to the max. He was daring, always sensing a way to get outside the box. Sometimes he was too far out … and he’d usually be the first to realise it. With a conspiratorial smile he would say “Oh … did I lose it, dears?!” But usually there was sense in his nonsense—art in his madness. It was liberating. I think he encouraged us all in his way, to believe in our own madness, and the collective mad power of the group Queen.

Freddie would have been 65 this year, and even though physically he is not here, his presence seems more potent than ever. Freddie made the last person at the back of the furthest stand in a stadium feel that he was connected. He gave people proof that a man could achieve his dreams—made them feel that through him they were overcoming their own shyness, and becoming the powerful figure of their ambitions. And he lived life to the full. He devoured life. He celebrated every minute. And, like a great comet, he left a luminous trail which will sparkle for many a generation to come.

Happy birthday Freddie!

http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2011/09/happy-birthday-freddie-mercury.html?m=0

15 Responses to “Best Google Doodle ever!”

  1. There can only be ONE, and that’s you. Prince of the Universe, Champion of the World, KING of all our hearts. I love you now as I’ll love you forever … endlessly and filled with joy. I celebrate you today and everyday, for everything you brought to the world, everything you brought to MY world. There will never be a time I won’t think of you and smile … you are everything.
    Infinite inspiration.

    I LOVE YOU!!!!

  2. Love and Lot of light for you … donde quiera que estés ! Happy Birthday Hombre hermoso!

  3. I love you! You are missed in this world.

  4. Freddie i’ll always remember you as a real star that had brighted so much and still brights in our hearts…

  5. Aquarius Camus Says:

    Your music is an hymn. Let forthcoming generations vibrate with your music as much as you did when you performed it. Happy Birthday, King of Kings!

  6. Happy Birthday Freddie! Calling Mr. Fahrenheit! Traveling at the speed of light! Hope you have a supersonic birthday in heaven.

  7. This Day is a special day for me! You are a real treasure Freddie ! Thank You for existing and making everything so perfect , you are one of a kind, I will love you always!!! Happy Birthday Freddie Bulsara !

  8. Il y a longtemps, j’ai entendu une musique qui m’a touché au plus profond de moi-même. C’était “The show must go on”. Depuis la voix de Freddie Mercury accompagne ma vie. J’écoute Queen quand je suis malheureuse, quand je suis heureuse, tu es toujours dans mon coeur Freddie. Une grande voix et une si belle personne ne meurent jamais. I still love you !

  9. Happy birthday Freddie. I miss you so much and not a day goes by without thinking of you. You are a true legend and they’ll never be another like you. Thanks for all the memories!

  10. “Don’t stop me now, I’m have such a good time” We will never stop loving you and your songs!

  11. Happy Birthday, Freddie, my love. You’re always in my heart and will meet again one day to dance the Millionaire’s Waltz. Your music has always been my companion. We, on planet Earth love you and will always celebrate your birthday . Thanks a lot for everything!

  12. Happy Birthday Freddy, although I was born 2 years after you left us my father raised me on your music. It is still the best music I have ever heard, great to sing along with and always more fun with friends. We all miss you and when I’m an old man I will look forward to meeting you when I finally pass on …

  13. You’re the perfect example of the person I’d like to be,both as a personality and as an artist.I’m trying hard to become exactly that.Thanks for the inspiration,the voice,and that amazing charisma…
    Happy Birthday,Freddie.
    Wish you were here,and wish I’d met you.I’ll always love you❤

  14. Even though I am only 31, I have fond memories of Queen’s music and your incredible talent. I began listening to Queen in high school and since then have always loved their unique style. When I was pregnant with my first child, Queen was my soundtrack and I would put the headphones on my belly so my unborn son could hear this amazing music. Your beautiful voice relaxed me and inspired me and just made me feel good during that tough time. You’re one of a kind, Freddie. Happy birthday.

  15. This goes out to you, Freddie. Over the course of the past year, your music, energy, talent, and passion, have had a powerful impact on my life. The legacy you left has profoundly brightened my existence. I still find myself in awe and wonder when I watch you perform, only to witness my consciousness expand in all directions. Your music brings me ALIVE! You were a gift to this world, and I thank you. You are stunningly beautiful, still. Happy Birthday. ♥

Leave a Reply

